Dutch Pianist & Composer
Jeroen van Veen by David de Haan
Jeroen van Veen Logo
  • ©1993-2024 | Jeroen Van Veen | | | | | | | | | | | | Contact Me 0

Jeroen van Veen

River Flows in You, Yiruma
CD Yiruma_
Composer: Yiruma
Title: River Flows in You
Performer: Jeroen van Veen

Yiruma, born in South‐Korea in 1978, is a phenomenon. He was classically taught as a pianist and composer in London. In the year 2000 he released his first album of his own compositions on DECCA, which became an instant hit. Ever since he tours the world as a performer of his own works, a cult figure for a new generation of millions of music lovers. Yiruma’s compositions are beguilingly simple, instantly recognisable and enjoyable. Several of his works have become world famous, like ‘River flows in you’, nowadays a regular Wedding evergreen. His works are a natural and unique bridge between classical and pop music. Variously described as “contemporary classical”, “minimalist” and even “New Age”, Yiruma’s gorgeously peaceful music is impossible to classify – it is simply there to be enjoyed. The South Korean composer, born in 1978, studied in the UK and has made a name for himself in both in his native country and in Europe, regularly performing to sell‐out audiences around the globe. Despite his definite celebrity status, his music remains resolutely simple and unpretentious; more in the style of short pop music songs than regular solo piano pieces, the very best of it can be enjoyed on this exciting 2CD release – which includes, among others, the hit River Flows In You, now a regular feature on wedding music albums. Jeroen van Veen, himself a prolific composer as well as renowned pianist, fell in love with Yiruma’s music on first hearing. As he explains in his liner notes, the music’s enduring popularity is down to its simplicity for player and listener alike. Not many classical composers can boast of having millions of fans, and millions of YouTube views to boot; Yiruma, however, effortlessly bridges the gap between popular and classical, and, most of all, allows the listener to relax and unwind. Brilliant Classics is proud to offer this new recording in the same month together with a new line of vinyl LP releases. With music by Pärt, Satie, Einaudi and other renowned minimalist composers making up the first two batches of vinyl, this exciting new development gives the listener a real opportunity to sit down and savour music just the way it used to be appreciated.

CD 01

01 Chaconne 04:02
02 Mika's Song 03:00
03 27. May 03:45
04 Spring Waltz 02:31
05 The view from my Window 02:48
06 Sky 03:34
07 The Day After 03:35
08 Fairy Tale 02:46
09 Do You? 05:29
10 Love Me 03:52
11 I 04:19
12 Wait There 05:04
13 Passing By 04:50
14 The Things I Really 03:22
15 Indigo 02:33
16 Poem 02:56
17 Infinia 03:39
18 Reminiscent 03:03
19 Tears On Love 03:49
20 Yellow Room 03:52
21 River Flows In You 03:31
22 One Day I Will 04:14

CD 02

01 Loanna 04:03
02 Beloved 04:59
03 Kiss The Rain 03:56
04 Our Same World 01:47
05 May Be 03:59
06 Fotografia 03:08
07 Destiny of Love 04:03
08 Sometimes… Someone 04:04
09 It's Your Day 03:34
10 I'm Just A 04:39
11 When The Love Falls 03:33
12 The Moment 03:34
13 …. 03:04
14 The Scenery Begins 03:56
15 Falling 04:41
16 With The Wind 03:32
17 All Myself To You 03:37
18 Time Forgets 03:39
19 Tears 01:50
20 Dream 04:32
21 Picture Me 05:12

Playing time cd 01: 79:46
Playing time cd 02: 79:44

Microphones: DPA 2006A
Piano: Yamaha C7
Produced by: Van Veen Productions for Brilliant Classics All works published by © Hall Leonard, Sony ATV Music Publishing
Liner notes: Jeroen van Veen
Executive Producer: Jeroen van Veen Engineered & Mastered by: Pianomania
Software: Pro Tools, Logic & Sequoia
Recording dates: June 24th & 26th 2014
Recording locations: Van Veen Productions, Studio 1, Culembor

www.vanveenproductions.com www.brilliantclassics.com